Name: Dr. Himanshu Pathak (FNA, FNASc, FNAAS, FAvH, FAScT)

Designation: Director

Date of Birth: 02.02.1965

Area of Specialization: Soil Science, Climate Change, Simulation Modelling

Email Id:

Mobile: +91-9899247590Phone: 02112-254055, Fax: 02112-254056



  • PhD in Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, India (1992).
  • MSc in Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, India (1988).
  • BSc (Ag) from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India (1986).

Post-doctorate Experiences

  • University of Essex, United Kingdom (1996-97).
  • Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, Germany (2004-05).

Professional History

  • ICAR-National Institute of Abiotic Stress Management, Baramati, Maharashtra (February 2020 onwards).
  • Director, ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, Odisha, India (2016-2020).
  • Principal Scientist, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi (2009-16).
  • Professor, Discipline of Environmental Sciences, IARI (2013-16).
  • Co-Facilitator, Rice-Wheat Consortium, International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)-India, New Delhi (2006-09).
  • Humboldt Fellow, Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, Germany (2004-06)
  • Senior Scientist, IARI (2001-04), Scientist (Sr. Scale), IARI (1999-2001); Scientist, IARI (1992-99).
  • Visiting scientist IRRI, Philippines and CSIRO Land and Water, Australia.
  • Participated in more than 70 international symposia/conferences in 27 different countries.
  • Teaching and guiding MSc and PhD students since 1993 at IARI, New Delhi.


  • Executive Development Programme, NAARM, Hyderabad, India (2016).
  • Management Development Programme, NAARM, Hyderabad, India (2014).
  • Use of Geographical Information System and Remote Sensing in Management of Land and Water Re­sources,          IARI, New Delhi (1998).
  • Advances in Soil Science with Special Reference to Soil and Nutrient Management for Maintenance of Soil Health, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana (1994).
  • Foundation course on Agricultural Research Project Management, NAARM, Hyderabad (1992).


  • Published more than 200 research papers, 31 review papers, 27 popular articles, 12 books, 22 technical bulletins and 75 book chapters.
  • h-index 63, i10-index 168 with more than 14,200 citations in international literature.

Awards and Recognitions

  • Fellowship of Academies
  1. National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS), India (2007).
  2. West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology, India (2013).
  3. Indian National Science Academy (INSA), India (2014).
  4. National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) (2016).
  5. Indian Climate Congress, Bhubaneswar, Odisha (2018).
  • International Awards and Recognitions
  1. Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship of Germany (2004).
  2. Lead Author of the Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) 5th Assessment Report (2011-2014).
  3. Lead Author, Refinement to the IPCC Guidelines for National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (2017-2019).
  4. Coordinator for United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Govt. of India (2011-2015).
  5. Outstanding Administrative Support Award, IRRI, Philippines (2007).
  • National Awards and Recognitions
  1. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (2019).
  2. Platinum Jubilee Award Lecture of ISCA (2018).
  3. Krushi Gourav Award, Orissa Krushak Samaj (2017). 
  4. Silver Jubilee Commemoration Medal of INSA (2016).
  5. Society of Agricultural Professional Excellence Award (2016).
  6. Prof. SK Mukherjee Commemoration Award of ISCA (2012).
  7. Recognition Award of NAAS, India (2011).
  8. Dr. BC Deb Memorial Award of ISCA (2001).
  9. Golden Jubilee Young Scientist Award, Indian Society of Soil Science (1998).
  10. BOYSCAST Fellowship of Dept. of Science & Technology, Govt. of India (1996).
  11. Young Scientist Award of Indian Science Congress Association (1994).
  • President of Professional Societies
  1. President of Association of Rice Research Workers, Cuttack, Odisha (2018).
  2. Executive President of Society for Conservation of Nature, New Delhi (2016).
  3. President of Agriculture and Forestry Sciences Section of ISCA (2007).
  • Editor of Journals
  1. Indian Journal of Agricultural Science, ICAR, New Delhi (2018 onwards).
  2. Agricultural Research, NAAS, New Delhi (2017 onwards).
  3. Indian Journal of Agronomy, Indian Society of Agronomy (2011-17).
  4. Greenhouse gases: Science and Technology, John Wiley Publication (2010-15).
  5. Current Advances in Agricultural Sciences, Kanpur (2007-14).
  • Best Paper Award 
  1. Best paper award by Fertilizer Association of India, New Delhi, 2019.
  2. Best paper award of the Third International Agronomy Congress in 2012.
  3. Best paper award of the Indian Science Congress Association in 2001.

Teaching and Student Guidance

  • Faculty Member of the Post Graduate School, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi (1995-2016).
  • Teaching Environmental Science (Global Climate Change, Introduction to Environmental Pollution, Soil and Water Pollution, Greenhouse Gas Emission, Crop Modeling) courses for M.Sc. and Ph.D. students since 1993. 
  • Supervised 3 MSc and 6 PhD students in the Discipline of Environmental Sciences at Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.
  • Advisory Committee Member of 40 students of India and abroad in various Disciplines of Agricultural Sciences.
  • Designed curriculum for the courses on Introduction to Environmental Sciences, Global Climate Change and Agriculture, Simulation modeling etc. for MSc and PhD students at IARI.
  • Received certificate for Excellence in Teaching from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi in 2000, 2001 and 2003.

Member of Academic and Policy-framing Bodies

  • Member, Senior Officers Committee, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, 2020.
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, Tea Research Association, Jorhat, Assam, 2020.
  • Executive Council, Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya, West Bengal, 2018 onwards.
  • Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, Mumbai, India, 2018 onwards.
  • Member, Twinning R&D Environ. Biotech, Dept. Biotech., New Delhi, 2017 onwards.
  • Member, TAC, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, 2016 onwards.
  • Member, National Programme on Carbon Sequestration Research, New Delhi (2015-20).
  • Member, CSA Technology Identification and Prioritization, TIFAC, New Delhi (2020 onwards).
  • Member, Board of Stuides, MPKV, Rahuri, Maharashtra (2020 onwards). 
  • Member Expert Committee, CCP-SPLICE Division, DST, New Delhi (2020 onwards).

Member of Professional Societies

  • Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi
  • National Academy of Sciences, India; Allahabad
  • National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi
  • Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata
  • West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology, Kolkata
  • Indian Society of Soil Science, New Delhi
  • Indian Society of Agronomy, New Delhi
  • Society for Agricultural Professionals, Kanpur
  • Indian Climate Congress, Bhubaneswar
  • Association of Rice Research Workers, Cuttack
  • Society for Conservation of Nature, New Delhi
  • Society for Advancement of Rice Research, Hyderabad